Wednesday, November 16, 2022


DAKAR 2020, STAGE 12

KTM’s reign over Dakar started in 2001 Paris-Dakar rally which was run for 10,600 KM (6,600 Miles) in 20 days. In the end the Italian rider Fabrizio Meoni claimed a surprising victory over it. He did not win any single stage but he was consistent and managed to bring it home for the team.

From ’01 on KTM won this ultimate challenge for 18 consecutive times with 8 different riders and it created an atmosphere that KTM would win it anyway and this was a very well deserved reputation in any kind of sports.

However last year showed us that 2020 would not be an easy one with Honda’s passion and talented rider line up. Ricky Brabec was leading the overall with more than 7 minutes last year when we entered to the 8th stage and it was only 3 stages left. He then unfortunately forced to retire due to engine failure.

Ricky Brabec was no different from last year and rode a flawless rally but this time there was no bad luck at all. He covered 6952 KM in 40H 02′ 36” and became the first ever American to win Dakar (In 42 years of Dakar history not a single American rider/pilot has ever won the rally). By Ricky’s victory Honda got their 6th Dakar victory (1982-1986-1987-1988-1989-2020).

It was Pablo Quintanilla who came P2 by 16′ 26” after Brabec and the defending champion Toby Price was the one to complete the podium.

Total distance covered after Stage 12 : 6952 KM

Stage 12 Classification

Overall Classification After Stage 12

Go to the full rankings of Dakar 2020

Dakar 2020 Highlights

Leave a Response